Despite TINYpulse's best efforts to keep employees engaged in their work and happy at your company, there will be times when an employee needs or chooses to move on. Be sure to deactivate their TINYpulse accounts to prevent them from submitting any more feedback and to reclaim a seat in your subscription. 


(i) You must be listed as an administrator for any one of the TINYpulse applications and/or be the direct manager of the employee in order to deactivate a user and enter exit data. Please speak to your TINYpulse administrator if you believe you should have access to deactivate TINYpulse users. 


Deactivate a user and enter exit information


If you're using TINYpulse Retention to get attrition and retention insights, you're going to want to enter exit details right when you deactivate the employee in TINYpulse. This is the quickest and easiest way to ensure you don't forget to do this later.


  1. Log in to TINYpulse and go to the People list in Users and Settings.
     
     
  2. Find the employee in the user list who has left the company and needs to be deactivated.
  3. Click on the three dots to the right of their row and select Deactivate & Exit.

     
  4. If your organization is a legacy org that has access to only Engage or Engage + Coach (this is a special case), there's nothing else you need to do! The deactivation process is now complete and the user won't be able to access their TINYpulse account any longer. But for the majority of organizations, please keep reading. 
  5. Enter information about their departure in the popover. Exit date is required, the rest of the fields are optional but encouraged. Here's a brief explanation about the additional fields:
    • Personal Email: Store the employee's personal email here if you believe you'll need to contact them in the future.
    • Voluntary Exit: Did the employee leave through their own decision or was the decision made for them (termination, end of contract, etc.)?
    • Regrettable Exit: Will this departure negatively impact your company in terms of productivity, morale, knowledge loss, etc? If the employee does not cause negative impact than it is not a regrettable departure.
    • High Performer: Decide whether or not this employee was a standout at their job or in their field. This is important to see the caliber of employees leaving. The last thing you want is to lose your top people!
    • Reason(s) for Leaving: These reasons have been based on those of popular HRIS systems. Select one or many reasons.

       
  6. Click Submit to complete. 


Deactivate a user without exit details


If you aren't using TINYpulse Retention to track attrition or you're not the right person to enter exit details, you may follow the same process outlined above and click Skip on the exit details form. The employee's TINYpulse ID will be deactivated to prevent further access, and you or any other admin can visit Exit any time to enter exit info if you change your mind. 



Delete a user from TINYpulse


All deactivated users in your TINYpulse account contribute to your company's attrition rate. However, there may be times where you don't want certain accounts to count as an "exit," for example:


  • Test accounts
  • Invalid email addresses
  • Employees who were hired but never started at the company


If you find yourself with any of these issues, you can remove a user from your TINYpulse account entirely without negatively impacting your attrition rate.


  1. Go to Users and Settings -> People and find the desired employee in the list.
  2. Select the three dots to the far right of their row and click Profile.
     
     
  3. Click Permanently Delete under the employee's profile photo and confirm the warning message (or cancel if you've changed your mind!).

     

Deleting a user will delete the account entirely, but any survey responses, suggestions, and Cheers will remain in TINYpulse so results aren't affected by this action.